Annette Toms aka Mrs Lang Interview

annette_summer_endQ People have been enjoying your performances for some time now. How many plays have you done for the Players now?

A I’ve been in over 100 plays for ALP. My first one was Relative Values by Noel Coward in 1965.

Have you played for other Companies?

A Before joining ALP I belonged to the Brow Theatre Group for eight years.

Q What would you say was your favourite out of all those, and which was the most difficult?

A With so many wonderful parts it’s very difficult to choose, but I would have to say the Shell Seekers. Another favourite was Oberon in Midsummer Night’s Dream. The most demanding one was Kindertransport.

Q Is there any character or type of play you’d like to take on in the future?

A I do love comedies, but I would really like to act in another Shakespeare play.

Q You must have seen some significant changes in the world of acting over the years?

Yes, people don’t seem to enjoy acting so much today. We had so much fun years ago and it really came over across the footlights. Audiences knew we were enjoying ourselves and they responded, sometimes shouting out, clapping and, of course, laughing.

Tell us about the character you’re playing in Summer End. Are you enjoying it?

My character, the manager of the retirement home, is not a very nice character at-all. I seem to get to play a lot of not very nice characters – is someone trying to tell me something? After an absence from acting for a couple of years I’m finding it hard to learn it again, but I always enjoy it.

As well as acting you’ve directed a number of plays. Which ones do you feel most satisfied about?

I loved directing Acrington Pals and Our Country’s Good. I was very lucky to have an excellent cast for both.

Interview with Brian Hibberd, Publicity Director, Summer End

Leave a Reply

