Shirley Watts aka May Brewer

shirley_watts_blog_photoYou’re a newcomer to the Abbots Langley Players aren’t you? How did you get involved?

I had a message from a friend in the King’s Langley Review Company who’d heard about the play. I read the script, auditioned – and here I am!

Have you been involved in many plays? What sort of characters have you taken on?

It’s been a good number of years since I last did a play, but I have been in a couple of farces more recently, which I enjoy immensely. The last one was “Run for your Wife”. I’ve been more involved in ‘variety’, song and dance, comedy and panto. When I moved to Spain in ’98 I joined a large showgroup that performed for charity. I did over 100 shows with them, usually with large audiences, but strictly as an amateur.

In Summer End, you play the part of May. Who is she and what is she like?

May is a middle class lady who finally realises that she has been dumped in a retirement home. She has a highly nervous character which leads to her being taken advantage of by other people. It’s an enjoyable part as I like the emotions edged with dry humour.

Apart from Drama, what sort of interests and hobbies do you have?

They are many and varied. I joined a Community Choir; I love easy walking in the countryside (I used to ‘adventure walk’ in Spain, – that’s rough tracks, taking on caves and rocks or whatever you come across); I go to the gym; I enjoy craft activities; I’m a support volunteer for Homestart; and more…

Leave a Reply

