Stuart Martin aka Alan Baines

stuart_martin

You were involved with the Players quite a long time ago. What sort of things did you do?

I started initially when I was in my teens. I got involved with the sound system in the Barn, so that must have been 1977/8. I used to get involved with the set building as well.

You’ve been on stage for us several times as well haven’t you?

Yes, I was in Waters of the Moon, Under Milk Wood, Dancing at Lughnasa, You’re only Young Once, Guards!Guards!, and Catherine Howard. I acted alongside my son in Dancing at Lughnasa, a good thing to do.

You’ve been away from acting for a while because of work commitments. Are you enjoying being back?

Oh yes, and I like the play Summer End. There are some lovely bits in it and it’s good for a laugh. It’s quite close to home life too – thinking of my mother-in-law, I could almost have written the lines! I suppose at least that makes learning the lines a bit easier!

Are rehearsals going well?

They are, yes, and my fellow-actors are a good bunch. We’re starting to gel together well and have a good feel for the play.

Any particular challenges?

Yes – this will be the first time I’ve done a matinee, so that will be interesting!

Leave a Reply

