Laura Tomlinson aka Sally

laura.tomlinson_crop

How did you get involved?
It was all a bit random really, I saw a post on the Abbots Langley Matters group on Facebook saying the annual meeting was taking place, so I went along and ended up signing up.
Have you done much in the way of acting before? Are you enjoying it?
I was actually a part of YPDC (Young People’s Drama Centre) until the age of 18 and was involved in a show they took up to the Edinburgh Festival, which was an amazing experience. Since then I haven’t really had the time to be involved in much, so I was thrilled when this opportunity came about. Acting has always been a passion of mine and I am really enjoying getting back into it again.
If you had the chance, are there any particular plays or types of play you’d like to get involved in after this one?
I have a love of musical theatre, I sing and dance, so anything in that genre would be amazing. Aside from that I generally like things that are a bit different, such as surrealist theatre, or plays with dark themes.
You play Sally in this one, an assistant carer in the retirement home. What sort of character is she?
The first direction I was given was ‘think of Kevin from Harry Enfield’ which has really helped me to shape her. She basically is a sullen teenager, very immature and quite thoughtless at times. I wouldn’t say she is exactly the best employee, she would much rather sit and have a chat then actually do her work. But she is not a malevolent character, she has her flaws like everyone else, but I think deep down she is quite caring really.
How do you get on with learning the lines? Do you have any particular method of learning them?
I actually have a really bad memory, so I do struggle a bit, but I just keep reading over and over them until they stick in my head. Rehearsals help, as once you see how everything fits in with the other characters and your characters movements it helps me to memorise them.
Apart from the acting, how else do you like to spend your leisure time?
As previously mentioned I am quite musical so enjoy singing and also attending gigs to watch some of my favourite bands. Other than that I like spending time with friends and have to admit I am a bit of a TV slob at times.
Leave a Reply

